top of page

AT THE WORLD BANK GROUP OPEN DAY (LATE POST)

You probably must be wondering why I am posting about an event that happened in May, now, after all this time. Well.....my apologies, but so much has been happening in my life, that made it hard for me to get time for so many things, including my blog.

Yes, blame it on my recent busy schedule I have had these past few months; I haven’t been able to get enough time to post anything, but here it is anyways.

So, the World Bank Group Open Day happened on 30th May at the Kololo Airstrip “Independence Grounds”.

It started from 8am, though I personally arrived at 10am.

I was supposed to attend the expo with a workmate; so on arrival, I made a phone call, but he happened to be still stuck in City traffic. I then decided to move through the stalls as I waited for him to show up.

The first about four five stalls were promoting clean energy cooking solutions and stoves.

There they talked to us about things like brikettes and stoves that retain heat more than ordinary stoves do.

These brikettes are an efficient energy source and a better alternative to charcoal. They are made out of things like banana peelings, charcoal dust, vegetable peelings etc...

In other words, when you use brikettes instead of charcoal, you will be saving forest cover, and preventing deforestation, which will help reduce global warming. Oh yes, we wont have to feel the intense heat and extreme weather conditions we have currently been experiencing.

Anyway, I am not going to elaborate a lot on all the things that I saw that day; I however want to talk about something that mesmerized me; I was surprised to actually find out that bee pollen is actually edible, and that bee venom has some pretty good health benefits to the human body.

At the National Agricultural Research Organization stall, there was a Company which makes honey and bee products; like wine made from honey, and then candles made from beeswax. This was where I happened to find bee pollen and bee venom on sale!

I was told by the guide that bee pollen is actually rich in proteins, and is healthy for the human body.

Trust me, I was so surprised; to think that bee venom and bee pollen are actually healthy to the human body…

…so when I asked him where I could access these products, I was told to go to the National Agricultural Research Organization offices.

I would definitely love to go there one of these days so that I can get a taste of this bee pollen and bee venom.

Anyway, all in all, it was an interesting experience getting to know about the World bank-funded projects and the benefits to Ugandans.

Oh yes, there was a heavy down pour in the afternoon hours, but good enough, it didn’t last for a long while.

Below are pictures of some of the items I was given by some of the exhibitors; including a free Hotel Guide magazine for Uganda from the Uganda Hotel

Owners’ Association, and a calendar.


bottom of page